Awards Category


Awards Category

1. Affordable Housing Category

For the affordable residential projects developed by the private developer or public sector. The project must adhere to the affordable housing policy, criteria, guidelines, rules, and regulations enforced by the Government or authority. The selling price of the houses must not exceed ceiling-price that approved by the Government or authority for affordable housing.

2. Environmental Category

For project that rehabilitates an environment or to conserve existing environment. For example, ex-mining land, polluted river, land fill, land that has been damaged severely by industrial used, or such similar damaged land. 

3. Heritage Category

For restoration or conservation of old buildings that have been identified by the relevant authorities for Heritage Conservation. Any building that is identified for Heritage Conservation or Preservation by the relevant authority is restored to its original condition as best as possible. The building after restoration can be for any usage depending on the owner. Thus, the same building may enter more than one category. For example, if the building is used as a hotel, the owner may enter for Heritage Category and Hotel Category at the same time. 

4. Hotel Category

For all types of hotel, and service apartments (built on commercial land) that are strictly operated for commercial accommodations, and etc. 

5. Industrial Category

For industrial buildings, industrial parks, technology parks, warehouses, factories, and etc.

6. Master Plan Category

For master development concept plan that has been approved by the authority for human dwelling township or residential housing estate. If the township or housing estate comprised of many phases, at least ONE (or phase one) must be completed and operational for a year before joining the award. For other beautification and reconstruction plans that are carried out by the Government or authority with public funding or Government allocations and subsidies, it should join the Public Infrastructure/Amenities Category; similarly, if it is privately funded and aimed for profits, it should be classified under the Purposed Built Category.

7. Mixed-Use Development Category

For projects that comprise not less than three (and more) main components of properties where those properties are physically and functionally integrated with covered pedestrian connections. For example, a development that blends residential, commercial, office, and retail uses. For all auxiliary facilities and service outlets that are provided per authority’s requirements or for residents’ convenience cannot be counted as a main component.

8. Office Category

For office buildings, office parks, office complexes, and etc. .

9. Public Infrastructure /Amenities Category

For projects that undertaken by the Government or authority, or projects that financed by public funding or Government allocations and subsidies. For example, Government buildings, hospitals, roads, bridges, airports, stadiums, parks, and etc. For similar projects that are private-funded and aimed for-profits should be classified under the Purposed Built Category.

10. Purpose-Built Category

For private-funded projects/buildings that do not comply with other categories. For instance, the private hospital, airport, bus terminal, university, school, and etc. For projects that already have their own and respective categories, they cannot be accepted into this category. For projects that are funded by public money or Government allocations and subsidies, it should be categorized in the Public Infrastructure/Amenities Category.

11. Residential High Rise Category

For apartments, service apartments, condominiums and residential development buildings of 26 storeys and above. 

12. Residential Mid Rise Category

For apartments, service apartments, condominiums, and residential development buildings of 11 storeys to 25 storeys.

13. Residential Low Rise Category

For landed housing projects, housing estates, and residential development buildings of up to 10 storeys.

14. Resort Category

For beach resorts, hill resorts, theme parks, marinas, and etc. A resort is a place used for relaxation or recreation, attracting visitors and family for holidays, vacations, or longer stay. A self-contained resort attempts to provide all-in-one or most of a vacationer’s wants while remains on the premises, such as food, drinks, lodging, sports, entertainment, and shopping. For a hotel in a resort area (like a beach hotel) provided only lodging or accommodation, it should be categorized under the Hotel Category.

15. Retail Category

For shopping malls, shopping centres, hypermarkets, and etc. 

16. Sustainable Development Category

For projects or buildings that incorporated renewable and recycled resources, energy-efficient, energy-saving, use eco-friendly, green compliance and green-certified materials, and etc. For example, an office building designed that allow more natural air and lighting inflow, a residential building that incorporated energy-saving features, conserve rainwater and smart solar-power harvesting, and etc. Sustainable Development is a development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. It is the initiatives and actions to preserve natural resources.

Note: For projects in Austria, Brazil, Central Asia, Colombia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and United States of America, only the Winners of the Chapter’s award are eligible to participate (MUST fulfill basic criteria). A site visit (except re-submission) will be carried out for projects submitted from countries without a Chapter award, if needed.
Note: No project shall be allowed to re-enter for the same category of which it has won an award earlier for that category, disregard the Gold Winner or Silver Winner.