Singapore FIABCI introduces “FIABCI Singapore Property Award”

29 July 2011

 In  order  to  encourage  more  Singapore  projects  to  participate  in  the  FIABCI  Prix d’Excellence awards, FIABCI Singapore is introducing the FIABCI Singapore Property Awards to recognize achievements of Singapore’s real estate projects and developments. The rules and judging criteria are similar to those of FIABCI Prix d’Excellence.

Only FIABCI Singapore Property Award winners will be able to participate in FIABCI Prix d’Excellence Awards. This is to ensure that top quality projects will be submitted for the world competition to promote Singapore’s excellence in design and architecture.

The FIABCI Prix d’Excellence Awards first started in 1992 although Singapore participated only in 1997 five years later. Over the 19 years, more than 170 FIABCI awards were given. Singapore entries won one-fifth of the total awards with 17 winners and 17 finalists.

FIABCI is the French acronym for “Federation Internationale des Administrateurs de Bien-Conselis Immobiliers” which means “The International Real Estate Federation”. With chapters currently operating in some 50 countries, FIABCI represent every discipline in the real estate industry.

The FIABCI Prix d’Excellence is an initiative of FIABCI to recognize real estate projects that embodies excellence. Entrants  are evaluated on the following criteria: overall concept; architecture and design; development and construction; community benefit and environmental  impact;  and  financial  and marketing.

The closing date for submission for 2011 FIABCI Singapore Property Awards is 15 August 2011. The result will be announced by 30 September 2011. The date for Submission of registration form for the FIABCI Prix d’Excellence Awards is 31 October 2011.


About the Awards

The FIABCI Singapore Property Award recognizes excellence in real estate development projects or individual properties in terms of design, aesthetics, functionality, contribution to the built environment and community at large. It represents an outstanding achievement which developers, professionals and property owners aspire to attain. It bestows upon the winner the right to use the coveted award logo recognized extensively through the FIABCI network.

Panel of Judges

A panel of judges established by FIABCI Singapore will comprise distinguished real estate professionals and experts in Singapore or other countries.

Awards Categories

A total of 14 award categories are provided as shown below:

Environmental Rehabilitation/Conservation) category

Project that rehabilitates an environment or conserve existing environment ie Ex-mining land, polluted  river, landfill, land thathas been damaged severely by industrial use, marshland destroyed by deforestation or such similardamaged land.

Heritage (Restoration/Conservation) Category

Restoration or conservation of old buildings that have been identified by the relevant authorities for HeritageConservation.

Hotel Category

Business type or leisure type, service apartments that are strictly operated as hotel, etc.

Industrial Category

For industrial buildings, industrial parks, technology parks, warehouse, factory, workshop etc.

Master Plan Category

For a development concept plan that has been approved by the authority ie township development and housingestatedevelopment.

Office Category

For office buildings and office parks.

Public Infrastructures/Amenities Category

Project exclusively financed and developed by public fund i.e. government buildings, hospitals, road, bridges,airport, stadiumetc.

Residential (High Rise) Category

Apartments, condominiums (6 storey and above)

Residential (Low Rise) Category

Housing estates, housing complexes (5 storey and below)

Resort Category

Beach resorts, hill resorts, theme park, marinas etc.

Retail Category

Mall, shopping centers, hypermarket etc.

Rural (Homestead Development) Category

Country homes, farm developments, etc.

Specialized Project (Purpose Built) Category

For purpose built building, i.e. international school, airport, etc.

Sustainable Development Category

For energy saving project, i.e. save energy feature, building allows more natural lighting, conserve or harvest rainwater for use.

Judging Criteria

The criteria for judging the projects include the following:

  • General description of project
  •  Architecture and design
  • Development and construction
  • Financial and marketing
  • Environmental impact
  • Community benefits.

Who May Submit for the Awards

Any individual, owner, developer, professional, company or group from the private and public sector who assumesexecutiveresponsibility for the real estate project or property may nominate and submit the project for the Awards.

a) The applicant is to fill up the Registration Form.

b) The completed Registration Form is to be submitted (via email or post) to the Secretariat before 15 August 2011 for the 2011 Awards.

c) The following information should be submitted: (a) at least one interior and one exterior photograph or illustration of the project; (b) printed project’s brochure; and (c) the project’s brief information or description.

d) The submission will be first assessed by the Organising Committee. Applicants will be notified by 20 August 2011 whether their submissions are accepted. If accepted, a detailed Submission Form will be given to the applicant together with an Invoice of the payment of Entry Fee.

e) The completed Submission Form and related information will have to be returned to the Secretariat by 15 September 2011 for the 2011 Awards.

f) The Entry Fee has to be paid by 15 September 2011. The fees are: FIABCI member –S$1,000 per project per category; Non FIABCI member – S$1,500 per project per category.

g) All applicants will be notified of the results of the Awards by 30 September 2011.


FIABCI Singapore Secretariat (Attn: Janet Han)

110 MIddle Road

#09-00 Chiat Hong Building

Singapore 188968


Tel: +65-64240282

Updated: 29 July 2011